Herelink center throttle will not hover

Hi, this is my first build with pixhawk, was always using DJI A3 or NAZA before. Always wanted to try pixhawk as it is open source.

I guess technically it is my second Pixhawk build. I made the very stupid mistake of going straight into setting this up on my 1.5 meter X8. Took the A3 pro off, popped the Kore and cube black in. Got it all setup. First flight did not go so well. After an expensive teaching moment I decided that maybe pixhawk was going to to take a bit more tinkering than an A3 pro and I should put it on something that costs less than one of the props on the X8. Lesson learned.

First off, my thumbs are trained for spring loaded sticks and I have no interest in changing that now. I can’t continue with DJI because:

1. they suck for integrating anything that isn’t DJI
  2. they discontinued all there autopilots and the M600
  3. I need to be able to lift a payload that’s heavier than a can of beer :slight_smile:

So staying with them is a nonstarter.

SO I have started with an F550, motors, props, and esc’s are bone stock, straight out the box. I am using a spektreworks Kore, cube black, and the original Here GPS as well as Herelink for all things control related and a Tattu 4s 10000 mah 25c battery:)

I have gone through the video for calibrating the herelink. I have calibrated from the home screen drag down menu. I have calibrated from MissionPlanner. I have calibrated from QGCS. I have tried center throttle 0 checked and unchecked.

With it checked it arms at my low speed setting and stays at my minimum spin setting. I can bring it to a stable hover in stabilize, loiter, or alt hold. It will only stay in a hover if I continue to give a bit of throttle. When I release throttle it immediately descends (aka crash if I let it).