PID Fine Tune for Xlarge Y6

Hi guys,
I am from Zagreb, Croatia. Surveyor by profession and doing a lot of aerophotogrammetry work. Recently, I’ve bought a Lidar system and build up a brand new drone for that heavy payload. The frame is Y6 with T-Motor U8Lite KV150 motors and 30" lower and 28" upper foldable Foxtech “Optimal” props. We did some PID adjustments but I am still not too happy with the way it flies. The drone weights 12 kg with the payload and two 14A 6S batteries. The distance from center of prop to the other one is 97 cm. Since I was afraid to do the Auto tune because of the large props with the low KV motors, we did our best so far. Can you, please suggest me a person near Zagreb that would be able to make that perfect tuning for such an expensive drone and more important way too expensive payload.

1 Like

AutoTune does magic if filters and AutoTune aggression is set up correctly.

Hi Hdtechk,
Do you have any suggestion for that setup before Autotune regarding this drone configuration?
What would be the correct setup of filters and autotune aggression?
I’ve read somewhere about autotune pushing motors out of sync and crashing the drone.
Darko

Of course autotune without lidar but a bottle of sand at its place.
Set filter to 10 hz and AGGR to 0.05 to start.
I don’t know the new U8II but the old U8 170kv don’t work well at 6S, needed 8S at least, and U8 150kv at 6S for me never go to fly very well.
And don’t fly with wind
I hope I’m wrong

1 Like

Hi Agridroni (Italy?)
It is U8 LITE Kv150 that is really efficient on 6S, on 12S it works only with 22" props and efficiency is 70% less. Of course, I just installed Lidar for the photo session and all the testing is done with the dead weight. Thank’s for your suggestions.