New Black Cube and new user

Hi guys.

I am new to this and have purchased a black cube with the Herelink controller. I have been diving into the internet and trying to read as much as possible (a little intimidating). I see a bulletin and I am not sure it applies to me about the black cube and writing parameters before I get started. Do I need to do it and what exact parameters? Sorry, just getting my feet wet and it is confusing. Much appreciated.

This is where you would start
https://ardupilot.org/ardupilot/

And this is the main discussion forum for assistance and questions

As well as here of course.

Thank you, Mike.

I have been going thru it all, but I see these SB2 parameters that must be set before using the black cube. I am running PX4 and not ArdruCopter and when I try and find the must have SB2 parameters in my cube I cannot find them in PX4 that is loaded on my black cube. Is this just a ArdruCopter thing or do I need this if running PX4 firmware as well?

Thank you.

Talking about these parameters. Also, what is EK2 and EKF3 and how would I know which one to use? Thanks

BRD_TYPE == 3
EK2_IMU_MASK == 7
(or EK3_IMU_MASK == 7 if using EKF3)
INS_USE == 1
INS_USE2 == 1
INS_USE3 == 1

ArduCopter. Not sure if the PX4 firmware requires these patches, or if they’ve integrated similar patches to address issues. If I’m not mistaken, they might not be subject to some of the SBs since PX4 is still based upon NuttX, not ChibiOS like recent ArduPilot firmwares are. Hardware-related SBs likely apply to both, still.

They’re two different Extended Kalman Filter models that ArduPilot uses for navigation and stabilization. They’ve been in development in parallel for a while now, but I believe the intent is for EKF3 to phase out EKF2 at some point.

Which to use? EKF2 is well-tested and stable. If you have any doubts, don’t change the defaults.

As for in-depth differences? I’m not certain, beyond this snippet on the GitHub PR for it: